Annual Exam – part 1

So yesterday I went to the doctor for an annual check up. Part 2 will be when I get my new lab results back.

My weight, minus shoes and the battery for my prosthesis was around 238.  My blood pressure was 150/92. I’ve been taking my pressure at home so we were able to talk about it some.  Normally it runs around 145/90+ even after resting for a few minutes.  Needless to say I have been placed on Blood Pressure medicine.  I had a feeling it was coming due to family history (my dad was placed on meds much younger than myself) and not dropping this weight.  To be honest with you, I’m a little scared.  I am hoping this gets me in high gear for losing the weight. I have other reasons for losing this weight. A quick look back at my last lab results, done a few years back, show I was close to becoming diabetic and my triglycerides were high. I am expecting those numbers to have gotten worse. I seem to be headed straight down the same path that my deceased relatives went down.

I don’t want to die. I want to live! I want to grow old with my wife. I want to watch my little boy grow up into someone awesome! I want to experience the joy of being a grandfather!

I used to be 165 pounds. I had an accident and became disabled and ballooned to my current weight. I want to get back to pre-accident weight!

Got to cut out fast food and late night snacking. Have to watch my portions. I already drink nothing but water and coffee.

I took my first pill this morning before 7am and at 9am I checked my blood pressure. The difference is amazing! My second reading was 125/83 I think. That was after 1 minute of sitting and the first reading. I was going to rest for 10 minutes and check a third time but the batteries died. They are recharging now.

I had my usual coffee this morning, medium coffee from McDonald’s with 3 Splenda and 1 cream. Normally after two hours I feel like I need to sleep but I am sitting here feeling wide awake. Could this be a result of the lowered blood pressure? I dunno. I am keeping a record of my morning readings to show to the doctor at my follow-up appointment at the first week of November.

Haven’t had any breakfast and it’s kinda too late for that. Will have lunch soon, a Chicken and rice meal I made a few days ago loaded with veggies. For dinner I am smoking a pork butt on the Big Green Egg. I will have to make some veggies as I tend to over eat when it comes to smoked pork sandwiches. A trip to the store is in order I guess.

One thought on “Annual Exam – part 1

  1. ditch the splenda. it’ll be better for you. i’ll be praying for you as you try to lose the extra weight as well. that’s the biggest reason for the HBP. you could try going vegetarian, or at least mostly vegetarian for a long stretch. might help as it’s helped my BP.
    -KIA

    Like

Leave a comment