Friday and Saturday SoTD

My battery died on my camera and I haven’t found the charger yet. The scents on these two shaves have been so awesome that a crappy cell phone picture would do it an injustice.

Friday SOTD

  • Soap – Tiki Bar Soap – Redwood
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Gem Micromatic (Bullet-tip)
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Alum/Water spray (broken piece of alum dissolved in water in a spray bottle)
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva Redwood

Saturday SOTD

  • Soap – Soap Commander – Cracklin’ Birch
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Ever~Ready 1924  (shovelhead)
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Alum/Water spray
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva Redwood

 

Friday Notes:

I am beginning to have a sneaky suspicion that the Tiki Redwood is causing an allergic reaction on my skin. Not too bad but there seems to be some burning perhaps when I apply the lather. My face is still shaveable and I simply love the scent so I wont be getting rid of it. NO sir! Love that scent. It is also a great performing soap. I went over board on passes and got some bleeding on the neck. Always the neck. SMH. The Gem bullet-tip was my favorite SE razor until I got the Gem 1912. Second day using the AV Redwood aftershave. The contents don’t seem to be as strong or long lasting as the small sample that Mr. Avery gave me when we met some time back. Perhaps my bottle is older? I don’t know. I have sent a sample off to someone that makes aftershaves to see if  that person can duplicate the scent. I simply can’t be buying  old bottles at high prices off of ebay like this. If this person can nail it I’m gonna get a bottle for myself and I plan on sending Mr. Avery a bottle as a token of appreciation.  He’s a very generous person and I have seen him doling out samples of the precious vintage stuff to others and that can’t be an easy thing to do.

Saturday Notes:

Ah….. Cracklin’ Birch. I feel sorry for those that don’t have a sample of this. I have mine mashed into a bottom of a cheap salsa bowl and I added some nearly steaming water and my brush while I took a quick shower. When I got near the sink again I could smell the awesome aroma floating around. I think I did three passes with the Ever~Ready. Despite my lack of use for the razor, it did a better job than yesterdays did. Maybe I finally got the knack for it? Back to the soap. I think I have figured out what the scent reminds me off. You know around Thanksgiving how some grocery stores have a display just inside the door of scented decorative twig brooms for sale and the aroma just punches ya in the face? It smells like those.

2 thoughts on “Friday and Saturday SoTD

Leave a comment