Happy Halloween SoTD

This is perhaps my sons favorite time of year (He’s six). Yesterday he kept repeating 4 or 8 lines from “This is Halloween” composed by Danny Elfman for Tim Burton’s”The  Nightmare Before Christmas” all the way to school and back.  I’m sure when I pick him up later today he’ll be back at it. We have made it a holiday tradition for him to go to his Pop-Pop’s for this night to do some trick or treating and then he comes back to the house and he and his Pop-Pop put the container of candy between the two of them and pass it out to other Trick or Treaters and sneak the occasional candy into their own mouths. I personally want to scare people. I love scaring people. But that’s another story.

So today I put in a fresh Rapira Swedish blade into the Merkur 23c. The Bigelow is nearly gone and I’ve really come to appreciate the quality of the soap. I have been using a bowl to get the lather started but only to incorporate it well in the brushes being used. I find that the brush will hold enough of the soap to lather for 4 passes easily. I don’t build up gobs of lather as I prefer to generate the lather by swirling on my face instead. I should really do a video but the device I used to set the camera on to the mirror in front is missing and I rather not try to work around a large tripod.

Brut, or the generic form of it, isn’t really my “I gotta have it” aftershave. It does have some menthol coolness to it and it does feel good on the skin, but I’m really indifferent to the scent. The menthol is slight enough that I feel it is well suited for year round application. I may be using a lot of it for the next several months in an attempt to finish it off. I don’t know. I’m already craving Stetson, Old Spice, Bay Rum, Speick, Avon (Everest, Tai Winds, Leather) and Tabac.

  • Soap – C. O. Bigelow
  • Brush – Century #4 boar (all original)
  • Razor – Merkur 23c
  • Blade – Rapira Swedish (1)
  • Aftershave – Family Dollar version of Brut

2014-10-31_07.57.45[1]

The results today with the new blade was much better than before but the feel of roughness as I made the ATG pass was still present with this razor. I have the feeling that this blade will only feel super smooth ATG with the slant and adjustables. Tomorrow I will use the Fatboy to test this idea. End result today was BBS again and nearly no weepers. This is the most shaves I a row that I have gotten BBS.

Leave a comment