SoTD + Noggin Shave ~ 23February2015

Made a mistake on the noggin today. Passed on the Merkur23c and decided to use the Parker/Edwin Jagger combo from yesterday. Changing the blade might have helped if I thought about it. Instead I did my usual prep with the trusty Soap Commander Resolution and went to town. It mowed the hair down with no effort, but what was left behind was not pleasant. More stubble than usual and the dreaded red bumps popped up. It was like using a cartridge razor! I jumped in the shower after and once out I applied a little Aqua Velva. That was bloody stupid. Dang that stung. I’m positive it would have been worse if I had used a lesser soap.

I changed gears/equipment for the face shave. Soap Commander Courage. This is the scent my wife has said is so me. I felt the musk paired very well with this. Up to bat was the Merkur 11c with the Zorrik blade. I decided to press my luck and do an XTG and then a ATG on the Cheek and two XTG (North/South and then reverse) on the neck. The result was fantastic again. There was some sting from the aftershave but it faded fast… unlike what I still feel on my noggin. Sigh.

 

Noggin Shave

  • Soap – Soap Commander Resolution
  • Brush – Vie Long 14830
  • Razor – Parker head on EJ handle
  • Blade – Gillette Silver Blue (tossed)
  • Shower
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva Musk

Face Shave

  • Soap – Soap Commander Courage
  • Brush – Vie Long 13070
  • Razor – Merkur 11c
  • Blade – Zorrik (tossed)
  • Alum block
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva Musk

02-23-15

Leave a Reply

