Taste the Rainbow….and hold the bread.

So I have digestive issues. I’m also overweight. Through trial and error I was able to find out that my body reacted badly when I consumed foods with Caramel Coloring. I could drink a Coke and find myself in the restroom in a matter of 15 minutes. I found that other darkly processed foods did the same thing and the only thing in common was that. Lighter color foods containing it afforded me a little extra time before I had to visit the little boys room… over and over and over again. I cut out Caramel Coloring from my diet and things got better but then I noticed I would still have my problem after really chewy bread or pasta. So now I am going gluten free for a few weeks starting this past Tuesday. I actually had done this for 3 days and I had no issues and felt super good by the third day, but then the 3 day weekend came and we ate out  and I found myself spending a lot of time in the bathroom. So from this past Tuesday to two weeks from now I am 100% gluten free and will see what happens. I am also trying to eat a wider variety of fruits and vegetables. I’m not really watching my fat, sodium, calorie content but I can report to you that I have always been under 2000 calories each day I do this and my fat is cut in half. My sodium tends to go over due to things I add to make veggies more appetizing. One thing I have added is blue cheese. So much flavor packed in so small an amount. My lunches have been a veggie bonanza of vegetables with a couple ounces of lean meat on a bed of Romaine lettuce. Just today I had two cups Romaine, 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper, about 1 cup carrots, 1/2 raw beets, 2 ounces double smoked Kentucky Legend ham, 1 ounce blue cheese and 2 TBSP of OPA Greek Yogurt blue cheese dressing by Litehouse. Yes, it was a really large bowl! Did you see the rainbow? Romaine, bell pepper, carrots, beet – green, yellow, orange and red. I’ve read plenty of sources telling me the benefits. Oh. Since I missed breakfast, I added 3 hard boiled eggs. Forgot to add that.

Tonight is going to be tough for me. I’m doing sloppy joes for the family so I need an alternative for myself that will satisfy me. I have a sweet potato on standby and some other veggies but I really need some fat and protein.

Let’s see. Since last week I have lost 6 pounds. Started at 242. Was 139 yesterday and today I’m 136.

One thought on “Taste the Rainbow….and hold the bread.

Leave a Reply

