Shave of the Day

No Menthol Monday today. I thought it was going to be cold. Nope. Typical Georgia weather. Yesterday and the day before it was chilly. Today it is about 60 and humid and tomorrow the high is only going to be about 40. Crazy see-saw weather. I like having all my cold weather soaps in front of me. Makes it easy to decide what to use. Today it is one of my favorite soaps, Synergy – Cavendish. Lathers easily, lots of glide, smells great and leaves my face feeling moisturized. Most times I don’t even bother with aftershave or balm. I noticed that the name has recently changed. No longer called Synergy. Now called Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements.  I hate long names.

I am really enjoying this Merkur 11c . The shave from this is much better than the very old German travel open comb that I had and PIf’ed away. 4th shave with the Supermax and still pretty good. I’m sitting pretty with a 4 pass shave and BBS results again. I got a little aggressive on my right side of the cheek and neck and had a few weepers but they quickly cleared up. Since I used a bit of Styptic and Alum, aftershave was in need and I grabbed the first thing that popped in my head. Pinaud Clubman. A classic cheap aftershave that smells wonderful and feels good.

I am happy to report that my Parker best badger no longer sheds hairs. It’s only taken 2 years of off and on use before it got to this point. I really like how it loads and lathers but I simply can’t stand behind a product that has shed this much to this point. If you want a cheap starting badger brush, then go ahead and get one, but if I ever decide to get a Silvertip, I will be looking elsewhere.

  • Soap – Synergy Phoenix Artisan Accoutrements (PAA from now on) – Cavendish
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Merkur 11c
  • Blade – Supermax (4)
  • Aftershave – Pinuad Clubman

2014-11-17 11.31.48

Leave a Reply

