Veterans Day SoTD

First and foremost, Happy Veterans Day to my brothers and sisters in the military. Today’s photo was inspired by Darren Sibierts SoTD photo. Thought I’d use my medals instead of ribbons so there is less to see.  I was not able to serve my 6 years (I signed up for 6) due to my accident so I never would have gotten my Good Conduct medal. This one belonged to my supervisor, EN1 Chris Clements, who engraved on the back from him to me and also gave a letter. One of the nicest gifts I have ever received and will never be forgotten. So if anyone has questions on how I got it without my 4 years, there ya go. The plaque was presented to my ship for their support during my recovery and upon decommissioning of the ship it was sent back to us. The National Defense medal was for my service during Desert Storm (First Gulf War). The Navy and Marine Corps medal is for my actions to try and protect a civilian (who happened to be my girlfriend) from a burning building, which has left me handicap to this day.  If you are interested in any of these, then you can click the names and be taken to a website that talks about each.

Others I have been awarded is the Sea Service Deployment ribbon and the Navy E ribbon.

 

The shave today was simply flawless. I listed all the soaps I have in my den on one of the forums and asked everyone to pick what I should shave with. It was a three way tie between Bigelow, Klar and Cella.  I had not shaved since Friday Morning so I had a lot of hair on my face. Since the morning was cold I put Bigelow to the side and grabbed the Klar. Is is from the discontinued block that smelled of roses. The scent is dead on and this soap is perhaps the best performing soap. I did 4 passes today and had absolutely no hair after sticking out and zero irritation. The large application of Tabac didn’t even sting, not even a little bit! That my friends is a very good sign. It’s been almost 12 hours and I’m still BBS all over.

 

Have a good one folks!

 

  • Soap – Klar Kabinett
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Gem 1912
  • Blade – Treet Super (1)
  • Aftershave – Tabac

My dad was pretty busy today.

0600 – get out of bed

0620 – get son up

0650 – drive son to school

0735 – Drop son off

0755 – Free cup of Joe at Starbucks

0850 – Get back home (there was an accident so I took the long way home)

0855 – 0915 – shower and shave

0915 – leave with wife for shopping

0942 – arrive at target

0942 – 1055 – sleep in car waiting on wife (I’m not the only one in the parking lot sleeping while waiting on their wife)

1055 – 1135 – Lunch (Mexican) Offered free dessert but I wasn’t interested. Left $10 dollar tip for good service (that’s 50%)

1135 – 1225 – More shopping

1230 – 1235 – drive to sons school

1235 – 1250 – read to my sons kindergarten class (Kids loved the goofy voices)

from 1300 to 17 00 we went to a movie and dinner and drove back home.

Dog finally did his number 2 outside. I think he learned an important lesson about coming when called.

20141111_172855bootcamp

Leave a Reply

