Shave of the Day (August 18th – 22nd)

 

August 18th

  • Soap – TOBS – Mr. Taylor
  • Brush – Slate Shave
  • Razor – Merkur 23c
  • Blade – Crystal
  • Aftershave – Family Dollar ‘Brut’

 8-18

                                                                                                                                                                                                           

August 20th

 8-20

                                                                                                                                                                                                          

August 21st

 8-21

                                                                                                                                                                                                           

August 22nd

  • Soap – Soap Commander – Respect
  • Brush – Slate Shave
  • Razor – Merkur 23c
  • Blade – Crystal
  • Aftershave – Aubrey Men’s Stock North Woods

 8-22

                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Monday is really a blur but I’m fairly certain that that is what I used. Tuesday I never had a chance to shave as I had to report to the VA for a root canal which did not get finished but the overall experience was much better than 20 years ago. That same day I got the Soap Commander soap in the mail so Wednesday I skipped the usual Williams and started off with the new soap. I’ve now shaved with it for three days straight and am enjoying it. Here is the info from their website:

“Respect – Real Men give respect to all and in return, they earn the respect of all!

Our Respect scent struts a lovely deep earthiness with a well-balanced, sophisticated respectful kiss of lime that will not only make you feel clean and refreshed but more importantly…respected. Sure to be favorite of summer and all year long. Our Respect scent perfectly combines essential oils of both Patchouli and Lime for a truly refreshing experience that ensures you ready to face the day full of Respect for yourself and for others.

Ingredients:  Stearic Acid, Distilled Water, Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Potassium Hydroxide, Glycerin, Sodium Hydroxide, Castor Oil, Lime Essential Oil, Patchouli Essential Oil, Colorant (Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Tin Oxide.)”

I was expecting a more tart scented lime, but to my nose it smells a little on the candy side. It is still very nice. The first note I am hit with is the lime and then, to my nose, it gets peppery.  I think my nose just smells things differently as my wife descried it completely different. I trust her nose more than my own I think. Anyway, to my nose, I smell a black peppery woodsy scent with a touch of lime. I really do like it and I can smell it in my brush when it dries. I found that the Pinaud and Aubrey went nicely with it, but the Brut wasn’t the best of matches. I suspect Spieck would be another nice aftershave to pair with it. It lathered pretty easily. The brush isn’t my best for soaps but it did alright. Next time I’ll use a boar. The last shave included a head shave and I was moving pretty slow so I had to reapply lather a few times. The Crystal blade had pretty much lost it’s sharpness by this point. Overall I am very pleased with my shaves this week.

Leave a Reply

