Shaves of the Week 7/28 ~ 8/3 (July tally)

This past week I used only one blade for all my shaves. A Treet Super carbon steel single edge blade. I used only one. ONE! No switching out. They are notorious for rusting if not dried quickly. Here is a photo after today’s shave. No rust! After every shave I would remove, rinse and thoroughly dry it before I even got around to rinsing off the lather from my face. After this first photo I dipped it in water and laid it back on the towel. This second photo with the rust spots is only after an hour and a half. Amazing how quick it can rust!

Photo 1blade01

 

Photo 2blade02

 

So how did this blade do for the entire week? Despite the rough first shave, it mellowed out and gave some very nice results, especially after switching razors! Enjoy the shaves!

July 28th

  • Soap – The Shaving Yeti – Shore Leave
  • Brush – Century #4 boar (original knot)
  • Razor – Ever~Ready 1924
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Old Spice – Lime
  • Cologne – Pinaud – Citrus Musk

This is a one of the newer razors to my den so my exposure to it has been limited. I find it very aggressive and frankly I’m not very comfortable with it. Despite the awesome amount of lather I had, the soap did not provide enough glide and cushion for this razor/blade combo. I’m not saying the soap is bad. It has done fine with other combinations for myself, but it simply failed here. The face was left very irritated. Take a good look at my set up as it wont be repeated for a very long time.

7-28

July 30th (Williams Wednesday)

  • Soap – Williams Mug Soap – vintage tallow formula
  • Brush – Century #4 boar (original knot)
  • Razor – Ever~Ready 1924
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva – Ice Blue (vintage with added menthol crystals)

Had to take a day off for my face to recover. Decided to use the same razor and blade again and the Williams came through for me for a very nice shave! The lather was thick and slick and did the trick! This could easily be repeated! I went so far as a head shave. I was not disappointed!

7-30

July 31st

  • Soap – C. O. Bigelow
  • Brush – Semogue 830
  • Razor – GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip)
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Cologne – George F. Trumper Spanish Leather

Today was my sons orientation at his new school so I wanted to not only look good, but smell my best and my best is this. The nice thing about it is the next day when I jump in the shower the cologne seems reactivated and I will spend extra time in the shower just enjoying the smell.  If you count the head shave from Monday as a separate shave, then this shave was the 4th use of the blade. I face lathered the Bigelow and had a wonderful lather and the blade mowed down the whiskers very nicely. I was expecting some issues but nothing arose.

7-31

August 1st

  • Soap – Boots shave stick
  • Brush – Slate Shave badger
  • Razor – GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip)
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – drugstore Aqua Velva in a 1976 Aqua Velva bottle

The lather from Boots has been mixed in my mind, but today I took extra care to rub double the amount on my face and kept adding water to my brush a little at a time as I lathered and I was richly rewarded. It’s really hard to describe the scent of this soap. 5th shave with blade and it is still going strong… or perhaps it is my know-how of this razor that makes the difference. I usually toss these blades on 4th or 5th shave.

8-1

August 2nd

  • Soap – Tiki Bar Soap – Set Sail
  • Brush – Semogue 740
  • Razor – GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip)
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Tabac

I just adore this soap. The shave was just right and I am betting this soap helped make it so. This is the vegan formula. I haven’t had the privilege to try the tallow that she has. I’m really liking the Tabac. I think I am starting to smell a little of the musk that my wife said she can smell. Longer lasting than most of my aftershaves and smells great!

8-2

August 3rd

  • Soap – Yardley Gold
  • Brush – Semogue 830
  • Razor – GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip)
  • Blade – Treet Super (7th shave)
  • Cologne – George F. Trumper Spanish Leather

I’ve come to find that the Yardley Gold is a pretty good soap. Cushion and glide is there and my skin doesn’t seem to dry out after and the scent is pleasant. Not sure where it can be bought. Perhaps Amazon.com. I basically avoid aftershave on Sundays and go straight to the Spanish Leather. It’s my regular Sunday scent. Today’s shave was another two passer with great results. This doesn’t mean BBS, but it looks very close and feels it. Here it is 9 hours later and the stubble is back and showing, but my skin looks good and the day is basically done with so I can’t complain. Interesting to note that the more shaves with the blade, the better it did on my neck. I’m not complaining!

8-3

 

As is becoming the norm, here are the most used products for the month of July.

Soaps

Williams Mug Soap – 4

QED Essentials Pine and Cedar wood – 4

Yardley Gold – 3

The Shaving Yeti – Shore Leave – 3

Soap Commander – Vision –3  (finished off)

 

Brushes

Semogue 830 – 5

Century #4 – 5

Slate Shave – 4

Semogue 740 – 3

 

Razors

Schick Krona – 6

1960 Gillette 195 – 4

1971 Super Adjustable – 4

GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip) – 4

 

Aftershaves/Balms

Aubrey’s Men Stock- North Woods – 4

Brut Attitude – 3

Old Spice Lime – 3

Aqua Velva Ice Blue – 3

 

 

6 thoughts on “Shaves of the Week 7/28 ~ 8/3 (July tally)

Leave a Reply

