Shaves of the Week 7/21 ~ 7/27

This week I approached each shave the same way. One pass with a very light touchup if beard remained visible. The direction of the stroke on my cheeks down to just under my jaw line was between a WTG and XTG. Once under the jaw-line it became  XTG with a slight, very slight, ATG. The razor was held at a angle to simulate a slant razor. In most cases, the touchup wasn’t needed.

July 21st

  • Soap – The Shaving Yeti – Shore Leave
  • Brush – Century #4 (vintage boar knot)
  • Razor – 1960 Gillette 195 (Fatboy)
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Old Spice Lime
  • Cologne – Pinaud Citrus Musk

[The old Century continues to be a joy to use. If all my soap containers were large like what I have the Shaving Yeti line in and my two tins of Synergy soaps then this would get a lot more use. It holds so much lather! It also has not lost any hairs to date. The only downside is it takes a full 24 hours to dry out. It just does not want to let go of the water. I think Citrus is the way to go on a Monday]

7-21

July 22nd

HEAD SHAVE ONLY

  • Soap – C. O. Bigelow
  • Brush – Semogue 740
  • Razor – 1971 Gillette Super Adjustable (Black Beauty long handle)
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Barbasol Brisk

[It took so long to shave the head that I just never got to my face. I decided to go completely smooth and go ATG all the way with the razor set to the maximum of 9. Super short strokes to keep it from clogging. End result was very nice]

7-22

July 23rd

WILLIAMS WEDNESDAY!

  • Soap – Williams Mug Soap (vintage)
  • Brush – Semogue 740
  • Razor – 1971 Gillette Super Adjustable (Black Beauty – long handled)
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Aqua Velva Ice Blue (vintage with added menthol crystals)

[Just a wonderful shave. The tallow really leaves the face soft and it whips up a very nice lather]

7-23

July 24th

  • Soap – QED Essentials Pine and Cedarwood
  • Brush – Slate Shave brush
  • Razor – Schick Krona
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Aubrey Men’s Stock North Woods

[Not much will change for the rest of the week here. The pine and cedar scents are very intoxicating to me. I love strong woodsy scents and I can clearly smell booth in this. What surprises me about this glycerin based soap is how much easier it is to rinse off compared to my other glycerin soaps. Ten furious seconds and it’s all gone and my face doesn’t feel dry. The lather is fine and provides what I need, but it’s not as slippery as Soap Commander, Tiki, Synergy, Stirlings, Cella, Klar…etc.. Still it is enough to have given me perfect shaves this week.]

7-24

July 25th

  • Soap – QED Essentials Pine and Cedarwood
  • Brush – Semogue 830
  • Razor – Schick Krona
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Aubrey Men’s Stock North Woods

[Yup, same deal, different brush. The Aubrey’s is a fine aftershave if you don’t mind the scent disappearing in about 15 minutes. It’s got some nice ingredients and leaves my face feeling great. Got to warn you that the witch hazel scent is very present. I hapen to like witch hazel. This one leaves my face feeling good like Speick does. Since the scent fades fast I can follow up with a cologne if I like in a few.]

7-25

July 26th

  • Soap – QED Essentials Pine and Cedarwood
  • Brush – Rubberset 153 (original knot)
  • Razor – Schick Krona
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Aubrey Men’s Stock North Woods

[Like the Century #4, this brush has been consistently been getting better but takes a long time to dry (not as long). It seems to be easier now to get the bristles to splay out over the face as I lather compared to in the beginning. I really like the look of this one and the swirly butterscotch base. Like the Century this is the original vintage knot. Haven’t lost a hair yet]

7-26

July 27th

  • Soap – QED Essentials Pine and Cedarwood
  • Brush – Rubberset 153 (original knot)
  • Razor – Schick Krona
  • Blade – Derby Extra
  • Aftershave – Aubrey Men’s Stock North Woods
  • Cologne – G.F.T Spanish Leather

[Like I said earlier, the Aubrey fades fast and a cologne can be applied in about 15 minutes. I wouldn’t mind smelling like this 24 hours a day!]

7-27

 

Leave a Reply

