Shaves of the Week – 7/7 ~ 7/13

Normally I shave every day for no reason other than to look and smell nice. I haven’t any job other than clean house and prepare meals for my wife and child, so really it’s just for those reasons of looking better and smelling nice. I love the smell of aftershaves!

So this week I missed a couple of days and I’m overdue for a head shave. It’s been hectic lately and not having a few hours by myself since my son is out of school can interfere with my manly rituals.

July 7th

  • Soap – HTGAM/Synergy – Chocolate Bourbon
  • Brush – Semogue 830
  • Razor – Parker/Cadet head on Edwin Jagger body
  • Blade – Rapira
  • Aftershave – Pinaud Clubman Special Reserve

So Monday I skipped a shower and shave and went straight to my dentist after getting up and dressed.  He could clearly see a crack and gave me the options. I decided to have the filling taken out to see how bad the crack is on the inside and it goes all the way to the root. I elected to have a root canal and crown. I got an appointment with an endodonist to get the root canal that Wednesday. After the visit I was talking with my little brother and he asked me about the VA Medical Center and I told him I didn’t think they had a dental thingy. I looked it up and they sure did. I’m rated 100% service connected so that meant my dental there is free. I called them up and found out they are behind, but that they do take 4 walk-ins from 7 to 7:30am and I could try for that. I called the Endodonist and cancelled my appointment, told my wife she had to take a day off to watch the boy and Wednesday I got there right at 7am (thanks to a 30 minute traffic jam one mile long) and was the 3rd walk-in. I was seen by 8:15 and got an x-ray on that side, saw someone else and they said I had an infection there and prescribed some antibiotics and said I would get an appointment for root canal in August (I’m feeling no pain since my dentist removed the old filling and put in a temp). Over all the experience was not stressful like usual. I may just go there for all my dental now. So easy.

After getting home I decided to shower and shave. Since it was my birthday I revisited the new soap. My wife was at the other end of our bedroom and said she could smell it. I asked her what it smelled like and she said bourbon and chocolate. She has a great sense of smell. I’m starting to suspect I’ve never smelled bourbon before. I’m positive my wife has many times. Since my wife was home I decided to break out one of my winter time favorites, Special Reserve, just to get her motor humming. Love getting compliments from her.

7-7

July 10th

  • Soap – Speick
  • Brush – Chrome handled boar
  • Razor – Gem G-bar
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Speick

I love Speick. I love the smell, soap is good and the aftershave is one of my top 3 for scent and purpose. I don’t use it much as it’s about $16 a bottle and I am cheap. It sure does make my face feel good, especially after a not so great shave. The lather was not wet enough and the G-bar failed me in comfort and I simply went overboard. It wasn’t bad enough to require the TBS Maca Root Razor Relief, but it was close. The brush and stand is from an Gillette Atra set that I got for 8 bucks at an antique store. I’ve glued the knot into the handle once and it’s been steady since. It’s pretty soft, despite looking unused when I bought it 2 years ago and has only lost a couple of hairs. I don’t use it much but it’s a solid performer.

7-10

 

July 11th

  • Soap – Soap Commander Vision (pre-peppermint sample)
  • Brush – Omega Sintex
  • Razor – Gem G-bar
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Brut Attitude

If you like trying American small business shaving soaps then you should try SoapCommander’s line of soaps. It lathers nicely and is very slick. I have found that Brut Attitude pairs extremely well with this soap. They did tweak the soap with peppermint essential oil since I got my sample so it may be a bit different but they are sure to have a soap scent that you will want. Honestly, this is good stuff. If I had some spare money, I’d be getting some Respect, Courage and Refreshment. Tell them- Lamar Sent ya!! Maybe I’ll get another sample. 🙂

7-11

 

July 12th

  • Soap – ToBS Mr. Taylor
  • Brush – Semogue 1520
  • Razor – Gem 1912
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Skin Bracer Spice Scent

Haven’t used the ToBS in some time. It was a nice size sample sent to me by another shave brother. The scent is unique and I’m not sure it is something I’d want but the soap is amazing. It only takes a little dab to get all the lather I need and it’s got a nice glide to it. For the price, it should be in your shave den.

The Gem 1912 is a “GEM” of a razor. Great audible feedback and cuts very nicely. This and the bullet-tip are my top two GEM’s for comfort and closeness. This was the 3rd use of the same blade and it felt nice.

After all this wonderful shaving experience, I decided to treat myself to a vintage discontinued aftershave which is Spice Scent from Skin Bracer. So thankful to have found this in the wild for half a dollar! I could bathe in it!

7-12

 

July 13th

  • Soap – SoapCommander – Vision (pre-peppermint sample)
  • Brush – Century #4
  • Razor – Gem 1912
  • Blade – Treet Super
  • Aftershave – Brut Attitude

Since I was using the 1912, I had to revisit the Vision by Soap Commander.  The lather from the previous brush was good but with this old vintage Century it was just a massive amount. I really should have done a head shave since I had so much. I’m kicking myself with my fake leg for wasting that much goodness!

7-13

 

Leave a Reply

