Shave of the Day(s) and June’s most used items

 

Will put up today’s in a separate post.

So I haven’t been posting lately so I better catch up.

June 27th SotD

  • Soap – Wickham’s Southsea Spray
  • Brush – Rubberset 153
  • Razor – Schick Injector type E-2
  • Blade – Schick (11)
  • Aftershave – Booster’s Mosswood

6-27

June 28th SotD (face and head)

  • Soap – Wickham’s Southsea Spray
  • Brush – Semogue 1520 boar
  • Razor – Schick Injector type E-2
  • Blade – Schick  (12/13)
  • Aftershave – Booster’s Mosswood

6-28

June 30th SotD

  • Soap – Boots
  • Brush – Elite best badger
  • Razor – Schick Krona
  • Blade – Rapira (1)
  • Aftershave – Aspen

6-30

So far, the blade with the most uses have turned out to be the Schick Injector blades. I don’t notice any decrease in shave quality until after the 10th shave.  I got my pack of 7 blades for 4.99 online. Lower my average to 10 shaves per blade and that’s 70 shaves for $4.99. Good deal. I have used up some products this month. They are: Aqua Velva Redwood aftershave, Wickham’s Southsea Spray and Kiss my Face Cool Mint. I’m sad to see the last of the Redwood as it isn’t produced anymore and can get quite expensive on Ebay.  I didn’t put the top on the Wickhams and it lost nearly all it’s scent but the performance was very good. If I lived in England, then their Garden Mint would definitely be in my rotation. Smells fantastic and performs very nicely. The Kiss My Face probably wont be bought again. The lather is just a little under par, but everything else, especially price, is very nice. Of all my mentholated soaps this one had the best cooling feel to it. Wasn’t a fan of the mint smell.

So, lets get down to the most used products for June

Soaps

  • Kiss My Face – 5
  • Williams Mug Soap – 4

Brush

  • Slate Shave pure badger – 7
  • Van der Hagen boar – 4
  • Rubberset 153 – 4

Razor

  • 1960 Gillette 195 (fatboy) – 5
  • Merkur 23c – 4
  • Schick Injectors E-2/N and GEM Micromatic (bullet-tip) tied at 3 each

Balms

  • None used

Aftershave

  • Booster’s Mosswood – 4
  • Skin Bracer – 3
  • Aqua Velva Ice Blue (vintage) – 3

 

Afterthoughts:

The Slate Shave pure badger might just be the softest badger in my collection. It seems to have finally stopped shedding as I haven’t noticed any hears falling out lately. Despite the attractiveness and feel of it, I can’t fully endorse it as I’ve seen issues of knots falling out and I wasn’t very happy with the amount of hairs I lost last month. Still, I think it might be at or near the top of the list over the next few months of my my used products. If you live in England you might want to give Wickhams Soap Co. a try for shaving soap. More affordable over there and it works very very nice.

I love my Injectors. Not sure I like them on my head as much as a DE razor though. Between the two I have, the E-2 is the mildest and more comfortable to use.

2 thoughts on “Shave of the Day(s) and June’s most used items

  1. How is the Boots Shaving Stick? I had the chance to get one, but after reading the experiences online I opted not to get one and only got me some Boots Cool Cologne Lather Shaving Cream, because its cheaper then the shaving stick.

    Like

    • Can’t really describe the unique scent. In my opinion it almost has a sweaty smell to it. It’s weird but I like it. The performance is decent, probably close to that of an Arko shave stick. It isn’t one that I’m planning on replacing once used up, which as little as I use it, may take several years.

      Like

Leave a Reply

