Shave of the Day ~ Proud of my boy

Prep

  • Hot shower/ Soap
  • Corn Huskers Lotion

Shave

  • Soap – Yardley Gold
  • Brush – Semogue 830
  • Razor – GEM G-bar
  • Blade – Treet Super (7)

Post

  • Warm Water rinse
  • Aqua Velva Redwood aftershave (vintage)

Another fantastic shave with this razor and blade. Of course great prep and soap helps too. NO nicks or anything. Did a XTG pass and then a ATG on cheek and a cross between XTG and ATG on the neck. I did something different and palm lathered the cream today. I got a fairly thick slippery lather very quickly and applied to my face what was in my hand first and then the brush. This is the 7th shave with the same blade and it wasn’t as smooth as yesterday but it still gave me a BBS shave and as I type this up 6 hours later I am still mostly BBS and my face feels fine. The Yardley is a gift from Richard Avery.

Also from Richard is a small sample of Aqua Velva Redwood. The scent reminds me of something I tried when I was 22 or 23 years old which was 20 years ago. It is strong and last about an hour or two to my nose. After I had applied it I thought I got a powdery scent.. it was so very faint that I’m not actually sure of myself. I simply horrible at describing scents but I feel this one is nicely named. I can imagine myself walking down the lumber isle in Home Depot stocked with only exotic woods. That’s about as close of a description I can muster! It’s manly and there’s no doubt about that. If it was still made I could see this in regular rotation.

 5-1

So my son is 5 1/2 years old and in K-5. He is suppose to be in K-4 because his birthday is  September 16th but the private school he is in let me move up. The next school, which follows the state rules closely, told us he will have to be in K-5 next year because of his age. Anyway. He got his newest list of sight words and I just went through them with him.  He had a problem with just a couple which when I told him to slow down and really look at it he could get it. Anyway, at the end of this list is this message “CONGRATULATIONS!! YOU HAVE PASSED FIRST GRADE SIGHT WORDS”

So yeah, I’m pretty proud of my little man. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Shave of the Day ~ Proud of my boy

Leave a Reply

