Shave of the Day ~ Williams Wednesday

The long awaited vintage Williams Mug Soap shave. Okay, it’s been less than 24 hours but to me it was a lifetime! Thanks again to Richard Avery for the generous gifts! A condition of getting the soap was that I partake in Williams Wednesdays. Now, having tried it just now I find that this even will be a piece of cake!

Prep

  • Hot shower/ Soap

Shave

  • Soap – Williams Mug Soap (vintage)
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Schick
  • Blade – Gillette Silver Blue (1)

Post

  • Cold Water rinse/ Alum
  • Mennen Hawk aftershave

 

First impression. Absolutely no scent. None. Nada. Nil.  Richard told me he grates it into a modern puck to get some scent. I decided to go a separate route and try my hand at unscented. Surprisingly it didn’t bother me not having a scent. First thing I noticed as I loaded the soap was how easily it loaded. I was going to build lather on the face but my song for the shave was Il barbiere de Siviglia, composed by Rossini and performed by the United States Navy Band so I decided I needed something nautical and grabbed my Old Spice mug. As you can see, despite the cramped quarters, it lathered very nicely. The better surprise was the feel on the face! It didn’t dry up instantly like the modern does.  It actually had cushion and abundant glide. This was also my first time with the Schick and since I was using a blade I know does a great job I decided to do 2 passes with a AGT touch up pass. I had just a little bleeding in the end due to that bad shave with the Croma a couple days ago but the AGT pass was incredibly smooth and easy!  I was completely taken by surprise on this! I had heard that the Schick (Krona) was a diamond in the ruff and have desired one and now I understand. It feels mild and non-aggressive but it performs very nicely. This is easily going in regular rotation.

Will there be another Williams Wednesday? Yes, every week! Too bad the modern Williams doesn’t do this well.

The aftershave smells wonderful. There was just enough for a generous helping on the face and I am digging it. Why in the world do this companies stop making such wonderful smelling aftershaves?

BTW, yesterday’s shaving music was Nocturne No. 2 in E Flat major composed by Chopin. Forgot who performed it.

4-23

2 thoughts on “Shave of the Day ~ Williams Wednesday

Leave a Reply

