Shave(s) of the Day

Got some catching up to do. Had to go out of town for a couple of days. First day was at a hotel that happen to have hard water. I took an assortment of soaps but didn’t have time to test them. I did the mystery soap (I still can’t tell you) using a VDH bowl that was soaking in the steaming hot sink with the Omega Sintex brush. The soap, despite the water, worked up a thick click lather in no time! The hard water really helped in rinsing and after a splash of some generic Brut I was good to go. That razor you see is a Bic Metal. I was given a package of them by a gentleman named Bruce down in Florida. It’s a single blade with what looks to be an aluminum guard in front. It does a fine job of shaving and I much prefer to take that with me that one of my precious vintage razors just in case I get forgetful. The second day I shaved in the kitchen sink (bathroom was in use) using HTGAM cavendish soap and the previous gear. No aftershave needed as that soap always leaves my face feeling perfect.

4-5_6

Today (April 7th) I am back at home. It’s Monday so I’d thought I’d go the citrus route. I plan on every Monday to be.. well… citrusy!

Prep

  • Hot shower /  soap (Zest)

Shave

  • Soap – Shaving Yeti – Shore Leave
  • Brush – Parker best badger
  • Razor – Schick Injector (it’s from the 80’s if anyone wanted to know)
  • Blade – Schick Injector (4)

Post

  • Cold water / alum
  • Pinaud Citrus Musk

4-7

I always seem to get a better lather with the Shore Leave compared to Yeti Snot. I did take my time and start with a drier brush which seems to be key. In 30 seconds I had enough for 3 passes, which I did, and probably enough for another 2 at least.

Still waiting on a sample of soap, or soaps from Wickham Soap Co. to try out and review. Been hearing some good things about it.

Leave a Reply

