Shave of the Day ~ Micromatic March (or The High Maintenance Shave)

Pre-shave

  • Warm Shower
  • Corn Husker lotion

Shave

  • Soap – The Strop Shoppe Black Tie
  • Brush – Van der Hagen boar
  • Razor – GEM Micromatic (open-comb)
  • Blade – Treet Super (1)

Post-shave

  • Cold Rinse
  • Neutrogena Men Invigorating Face Wash
  • Cold Rinse/Alum
  • Witch Hazel (generic)
  • Speick aftershave

It’s a lot I know. When I got out of the shower I realized the goatee needed some trimming so I trimmed them up. I was about to wet my face but the phone rang. By the time I was ready again my face was dry so I splashed some hot water and grabbed some Corn Huskers to use as a pre-shave. It softens the skin and the hairs. After my first pass I noticed that my right cheek has some bumps on it. This has happened before on that cheek after some really close and nice shaves and it usually results in acne. After my second pass I proceeded with the post-shave you see above to cool down the face and start a little healing. My face feels soft and great. Zero burn. That’s got to be the most post-shave stuff I have done yet.

The cheap VDH boar brush is incredible soft in the middle, more so that my Parker best badger. It’s a shame it loses a hair or two each time I use it.

Normally I use Nivea Men Moisturizing Face Wash and was getting low last time I was shopping and picked this Neutrogena up by mistake as they look identical. I do believe I like the Neutrogena better as I can actually feel the cooling power of menthol. The Nivea has menthol but I can’t feel it.

Can’t see it but I can still feel stubble on my neck… but ya can’t see it so I’m good.

3-19

Leave a Reply

