A salute to a spectacular product…

My Speicktember adventure has officially come to an end. I just didn’t have enough to make it through the month of September. The scent might not be for everyone but I loved it and the performance was just fantastic. My one stick of Speick shaving soap lasted about 80 shaves by my guess and costs only about 6 dollars. The aftershave lasted longer and would still have a few more days but I gave out a sample and I hold no regrets as that giving aspect sometimes has it rewards and certainly makes me feel like a good person. Now the aftershave is simply wonderful. The scent is a little different but not by much. I threw on my reading glasses to see what was in it and write it down. Let me post that real quick:

Alcohol, Aqua (Water) , Sorbitol, Glucose, Mannitol, Valeriana Celtica (Speick) Extract, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Distillate (water), Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Parfum (Fragrance), Lactic Acid, Potassium Alum, Menthol, Camphor, Citral, Citronellol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool

That’s a lot of good stuff if you ask me. I should note that you really do not feel the menthol like you would in Skin Bracer, Aqua Velva, Brut, etc..

I’m going to miss having this one a week but I have some samples to move on to for the rest of the month.

So. For the rest of the month I will call it SEptember with the SE meaning Single Edge razors of course. Today was the GEM Flying Wing/Bullet Tip razor and this time I loaded a new GEM stainless steel blade. So how did it compare to the carbon steel ones (Treet, CVS, etc). It didn’t feel as smooth or as sharp. This is a complete turn around on my thoughts between the two blades and you can chalk that up to learning how to properly use the SE razor! I would have no problem using the SS on the head but on the face I am sold on the power of the carbon steel blades. The only drawback of course is the CS blades will rust and have to be thoroughly dried after each shave.

Shave of the Day gear

  • Speick Shave stick
  • Speick Aftershave lotion
  • Parker best badger
  • GEM flying wing
  • GEM stainless steel blade

Shave on people!

Sept07

Leave a Reply

